I’m So Over Being a Conformist

From as early as I can remember, I’ve wanted to be different. I never wanted to be like everyone else.

As I grew up, my parents instilled in me the importance of respect for authority, and the importance of embracing societal and cultural values. But they didn’t do such a great job of instilling in me the importance of being myself.

So I’ve had to learn about valuing myself, and my uniqueness as an adult. Better late than never, but if I had learned this lesson earlier, I truly believe that I would be in a different position.

My respect for authority and my desire to “do the right thing” and “fit in” has led me to sacrifice myself and my happiness to build other people’s dreams.

I’m stuck working a stupid job, making someone else money, when I could be building my dream.

I live in constant fear of what people think and I act in ways I don’t always agree with to appease other people.

But I’m so over being who people think I should be. It hasn’t really led me anywhere good. As my best friend says, “Bet on yourself“. I’m going to value myself. I’m going to live from my values. I’m going to do what brings me peace and happiness, even if no one else is doing it. I’m so over being a conformist. GUWG-Anticonformity-2

One thought on “I’m So Over Being a Conformist”

Leave a Reply

