So Over Mediocrity

So lol I have a lot of thoughts today. Lots of questions. Lots of desires. Lots of dreams. Lots of realizations.

One realization I had today is the extent to which I’ve allowed mediocrity to infiltrate every aspect of my life. I settle for just good enough time and time again. I set low-hanging fruit goals and deceive myself into thinking that I’m doing well.

I take on the values and metrics of other people… and allow other people’s ideas of excellence to inform my definitions of what excellence looks like.

No more. I define what excellence looks like. I create the standard. I’m done doing just good enough. Obviously this is easier said than done, and it’s a journey. But I’m tired of living a life far below my potential. When was the last time you were hungry for excellence? When everything within you cried out to be awesome and to do awesome?

I think back to certain experiences I’ve had over the past few years, when I pushed myself to create excellence (my Master’s thesis, countless other research projects and papers, etc). I can’t let anyone beat out my drive and ambition. I can’t let anyone allow me to settle for less. Not even myself.

I’m so over mediocrity.

Leave a Reply

