Fuck It I’m A Spender

When it comes to money personalities, I’m a spender not a saver.

I used to judge myself harshly for this, especially when I compared myself to my mom, best friend, and a few other friends who were super savers and excellent bargain hunters.

I used to judge my friends for the hours they would spend trying to scour a good deal. Given that my I highly value my time and convenience, I thought it stupid that they would spend so much time just to save a couple of dollars.

This judgment led to some uncomfortable interactions between friends, for which I have since apologized for.

We are all different.

No way is better. Although bargain hunters do tend to save more money, they also spend more time that they could be using to make more money.

And although spenders save more time, they may have to take the time they saved to make more money because they didn’t do their homework and take some time to delay gratification and save a couple dollars.

Either way, we are all unique. Embrace your money personality, know your weaknesses and shortcomings and then adapt/modify if/when necessary.

I don’t think I’ll ever be that person that waits months waiting for the price to drop on a hair product. But I will certainly do my research on the cost of an item, shop around if necessary and make an informed decision if it matters to me. That’s the key. It has to matter to you. Case in point:

1. I LOVE Bath and Body Works Candles. ABSOLUTELY LOVE THESE THINGS. Like you don’t understand how much I love them. However, Bath and Body Works candles have a retail price of $24.50 per 3-wick candle. No fucking way am I dropping $24.50 on a 3-wick candle. Hell nah.

So what do I do? I wait. I wait until Bath and Body Work’s has a sale (and they are ALWAYS HAVING a sale… it’s literally like clockwork). Then I compare past purchases and see where I can get the most bang for my buck. I am absolutely THRILLED when I can get candles for a cheaper price than the last time I bought them. It honestly makes me happy.

2. I love love love makeup. I unfortunately also have very expensive taste. I went through a phase of doing the absolute most when it came to dropping dough on makeup. I spent hundreds of dollars not batting an eye and not giving a damn. But I’m not the same chick anymore. I sparingly buy makeup, and when I do, IT IS DURING A SALE. I recently discovered that MAC makeup is being sold at Nordstrom Rack! So what the fuck did I do? I got myself an eyebrow pencil from MAC for half the retail price that I would from the counter. Hell yeah.

So I’m not a hopeless spender beyond repair. I just think that there are some things that I’d rather save time than money on, and other things that I’d rather save money than time on. I think as time goes on and as I get more serious about financial independence and wealth, I’ll become even more of a bargain shopper, but it won’t be because I’m afraid of being judged or because I feel like I should. It’ll be because I’m happy by the idea of trying to save money and because I truly do love a steal. It’ll be because I know how to delay what I want right now for what I want most.

Embrace your money personality and where you are in the process. Just don’t do anything stupid.

Leave a Reply

